Worth checking out: INSCRIBE Community Magazine

Today I thought I’d take down two enemy choppers with one rocket: in this post I’ll be sharing one of my published pieces of fiction and drawing attention to a lit mag that is fast becoming an iconic part of my local community, the City of Darebin.

‘inScribe’ is an arts and culture magazine that is distributed freely around the Darebin area (typically in cultural hotspots, like cafés, libraries and community halls). It is produced by students of NMIT’s Bachelor of Writing and Publishing course and an editorial committee composed, I believe, of council workers and locals from the area.

‘inScribe’ exclusively publishes work by writers who live, work or study in the Darebin area. This gives it a distinct aesthetic and effectively showcases the diversity of our culture. ‘inScribe’ publishes poetry, short fiction, book and café reviews, articles and visual art. The articles they’ve published in the past have been about writing, publishing and the community at large; I recall there were some rippers in Issue Six about the state of the publishing industry.

Though it is a print publication, the PDF of their current issue, Issue Seven, can be found here. My piece, ‘Nostalgia Coast’, can be found on page seven. Though I don’t wish to sound too self-congratulatory or go on about my experiences, I did want to mention that I really enjoyed working with their editorial team. I found them to be both thorough and respectful.

I’m also a big fan of Emma Wiesenekker’s accompanying artwork (evidenced below). I feel it really complements my piece – and that’s true of all the other illustrations, too. ‘inScribe’ is a very striking publication.

Image

I wanted to write about ‘inScribe’ because I think it’s a great council initiative, one that deserves the support of all Melbournians if it’s to be sustained. Before I moved to the area – from the Gold Coast, an area bereft of culture – ‘inScribe’ was the kind of thing I dreamt about having in my community. It’s great for emerging writers and artists, and it can add a touch of class to any café window front. Council-funded art initiatives are hard to launch and even harder to sustain, so we have to make sure we don’t take them for granted.

If you’re reading this and don’t live or work in the Darebin area, you can still access PDFs of every issue here. The team at ‘inSribe’ welcome feedback; the magazine is constantly evolving in accordance with the comments they receive (as evidenced by last year’s transformation from a newspaper format to a glossy, vibrant magazine).

If you do live, work or study in Darebin and you’d like to submit something, check out the submission guidelines.

Photo credit: Emma McVinish © 2012, http://foxinahat.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

