Flash! Friday Vol. 2.6 Story – ‘Möbius Strip’

ImageFlash! Friday is in its second year! This is my response to the sixth prompt (the above picture) since their anniversary. One hundred and fifty words was the limit (with a ten-word leeway). We were also required to incorporate either a tiger or turtle into the story, literally or otherwise. To me, flash fiction is an opportunity to experiment, so this week I let my fantasy freak flag fly.

This piece received a positive mention from this week’s judge, Whitney Healy.

* * *

‘Möbius Strip’ (159 words)

Kurt knew of the legends. Valhalla was the home of the damned, a prison, a footbridge to nowhere. Spurred by heartache, the Goddess had created it. Its twisted design represented her pain, tightly coiled and circling back endlessly.

Approaching, Kurt saw lost souls loitering against handrails, resigned to fate. The portal he’d travelled through deposited him in Valhalla’s centre.

‘Goddess,’ he called. ‘Do you hear me?’

Seeing that the voice belonged to a mortal, the Goddess appeared, pet tiger in tow.

‘Why have you come?’

Kurt looked at the tiger and squared his shoulders. ‘I know of your pain – I’ve heard the legends.’

‘And what of it?’

‘I offer consolation, companionship. You need not go on this way, torturing souls to quell your heartache.’

The Goddess scratched behind the tiger’s ear.

In her toothed grin, Kurt saw he’d been wrong. Valhalla’s twisted design did not represent the Goddess’s pain. It represented her fury, tightly coiled and circling back endlessly.

3 thoughts on “Flash! Friday Vol. 2.6 Story – ‘Möbius Strip’

  1. Thanks. Yeah, my typical approach for these is to compact every disparate idea I can into the one piece, and spend no more than an hour on them (from gestation through to proofing), so sometimes they read like veritable Frankensteins. The Valhalla detail, I suppose, is a holdover from an earlier direction. (God, it sounds so slipshod! Why am I revealing my processes? :-P)

  2. You SHOULD reveal your process! It’s great! I’m very process-oriented rather than goal-oriented. Sometimes the patchwork is what makes us connect to the finished product.

Leave a Reply

