Sketches ’12

I’ve alluded to this a few times already, but one of my assessments this year entails producing a magazine of my choice. I’ve chosen to draw upon my love of horror with a digital horror/literary/pop culture mag. I’m presently laying out my content and sourcing the images. I’d already decided that internet phenomenon Slender Man shall adorn the cover, but have recently been considering sketching the cover image myself.

Sketching is one of my ancillary interests. I drew a lot growing up, but my commitment has waned since entering adulthood. To get back into the spirit for this assessment, I decided to look through some of my old sketches (by old I mean those I’ve done since moving to Melbourne. The real old ones are back home in Queensland). Sharing them seemed the next logical step. These are all from 2012 (the last year I made any serious time for this hobby).

'Phuket, Poolside' – published INfusion 45

‘Phuket, Poolside’ – published INfusion 45

'E.M.' – published INfusion 47.

‘E.M.’ – published INfusion 47.


These next four came from a life drawing class I attended at Northcote Town Hall courtesy of my girlfriend. (Best present ever.) The class was notable for being the first time I’d used charcoal and an easel; the first time I’d drawn a live model (let alone a nude one); and the first time I’d drawn in public, or had my work scrutinised. These all came from timed exercises. We were encouraged to focus on the model and not the page, which is basically the opposite of my usual methods. The instructors told us to make bold, defined lines first time around – another first for me. Ordinarily, I like to retrace a line several times until it’s to my satisfaction. I think the instructors were hoping to shake our perfectionism – definitely a lesson I could stand to learn! It was fun tackling the same subject from various angles. If you’re at all curious about life drawing, give it a go. I had a blast and look forward to someday having another go.

I forget how long we were given (possibly something like thirty seconds), but obviously this was the shortest timed exercise.

I forget how long we were given (possibly something like thirty seconds), but obviously this was the shortest timed exercise.

Another one. For this one, we had a little longer.

Another one. For this one, we had a little longer.

My first attempt with charcoal. Messy!

My first attempt with charcoal. Messy!

Charcoal attempt #2.

Charcoal attempt #2.

One thought on “Sketches ’12

  1. Like the sketches. Also love the premise of sketching, as it is when we feel most free as creative people, sketching dreamily and drafting can wait. I think sketching is relevant to creative writing, sometimes scribbling thoughts or words as they appear in mind without analysisng them: first thought best thought. Then later coming back to pages of writing scribble with yellow marker and highlighting the occasional line or phrase that seems interesting: sometimes a whole page of sketching may only reveal one line worth keeping. But that line can build and grow into another whole, which is fun in drafting. Warm wishes
    Peter

Leave a Reply

